Skip to main content

The Greenville Symphony Presents Appalachian Elégie

2 Performances

Event Types: Music

Apr 6, 2024 7:00 PMApr 7, 2024 5:00 PM

Time Remaining Loading countdown timer...

Google CalCalendar ICS

Event Registration

Event Website

Contact Information

Greenville Symphony Orchestra

864-232-0344 ext. 116

[email protected]


Performance Times:

4/6/2024 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

4/7/2023 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Thomas Joiner, conductor

Seth Russell, cello

Gabriel Fauré: Pelléas et Mélisande suite for orchestra

Fauré: Elégie

Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring

Mark O’Connor: Appalachia Waltz

When you hear Gabriel Fauré’s haunting Élégie as performed by Principal Cello Seth Russell, you will feel something. We don’t presume to tell you what, but sensitive artistry is required, and Seth has it in spades. The last movement from the Pelléas et Mélisande suite was played at the composer’s own funeral is beautiful enough to make the rest of us cry too.

Speaking of feelings, your patriotism will surge as you hear the sweeping sounds of Aaron Copland’s Appalachian Spring. How could one person so perfectly encapsulate what America sounds like? The richness and pain and expansiveness and playfulness you hear in this piece composed for chamber orchestra in 1944 is Copland’s calling card. Fiddler Mark O’Connor and Bassist Edgar Meyer collaborated to create Appalachia Waltz in 1993 as a poignant expression of longing for home.

This concert experience might remind you of what it feels like to be on the top of a mountain watching the sunrise.

Gunter Theatre

Venue Website